My 5 Ingredients Rule

pexels-photo-128408.jpegLast night’s dinner was another simple one. I love doing spaghetti, because this dinner can usually stay within my “under 5” rule for ingredients in simplicity.

Recipes with 11 ingredients make me dizzy.

The secret ingredient was a 1/4 lb sausage fried up in the skillet, then ground beef and onion- chopped broccoli and the jar sauce. Served with the spaghetti we were all set.

The centered panels of our kitchen table were placed back in to create a longer oval for 8 of us to gather around and one little island girl in her own table. Curlygirl enjoyed her own nook.

One of the better times of conversation during dinner was the “Wisdom For Mothers” Week three homework mention. One of the teen girls said, “Sometimes the homework this week was, familiar- alright-I think I remember Mom mentioning something about this before—and some of the homework was, like- Whoa! Mindblown!”

We laughed.

This week in Motherwise “Wisdom For Mothers” we read Philippians 2:1-8 “Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.”  

We read about our True Value, our New Identity, My Spiritual Gifts, then came the section entitled “Limiting Myself”.

As I studied  in my workbook and the scriptures this week, my favorite concept was this section.

We read the exhortation to pursue the love, joy and peace that comes from setting limits on ourselves, and reigning selfish habits, asking God to take the people pleasing, selfishness and pride out of our lives.

Personally, trusting God with the process of trusting Him and obeying Him in the areas when I grab comfort, power or entitlement treats WILL result in joy and peace for me. I am continually working on this. Not because I think disciplines will SAVE me, oh, no. Christ’s death on the cross for my sins has already done that. “Thanks be to God who gives us the Victory through Our Lord, Jesus Christ”  (I Corinthians 15:57)

Obeying His design, however. THAT is the great mystery and motivator, the missing link that makes us shake off generational habits that steal or cultural lures that destroy.

Perhaps, I should apply my 5 ingredients rule to my trend towards selfishness- perhaps I can settle on I only need 5 things to be at peace…an Almighty Fortress for a God, freedom to worship Him as we are taught and as we ought, breath in my body and health in my bones, simple food and a roof over my head.

For all this, He has added  “common sharing in the Spirit” with my family and sweet friends in the Home Grown Hearts group, and “tenderness and compassion” from my husband and family who seem to put up with me in patience and humor.

Tomorrow morning, we will gather for breakfast treats in the kitchen, then-in the Living Room once again for the Living Word! You come, too!

Leave a comment